Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Popped off early-ish to the brocante in Rully. We went to bed rather late last night after watching the Olympic opening ceremony so I wasn’t that quick off the mark – but I needn’t have worried, it rained heavily overnight so the traders were very slow in setting up their stalls and the entrance was a bit of a mud bath.

Bought three huge bags of lovely linens, picked up some croissants and was back in time for coffee and the start of the cycle road race.

It’s strange to be sitting in France watching the cyclists riding all around Surrey passing my home (East Clandon), my showroom (Dorking), where I went to prep school (Walton), where I grew up (Sunbury and Weybridge), where my grandmother lived (Oxshott and Esher), where we used to picnic (Box Hill), where I used to ride (Shere, Ripley, Horsley) – it’s a trip down memory lane!

